Get to know the girls of ReDress….

If there is one thing we’ve learned after 7 years in business, it’s that style is PERSONAL.

The clothes in your closet are not just clothes.  They’re memories; purchases you bought at points in your life that bring back emotions.  You have sequined dresses from your trip to Vegas.  Old college sweatshirts.  Pants to fit pre-and-post baby bodies.  Your clothes reflected who you were then, and who you are today.  And inviting some strangers in to see and inspect and discuss each and every one of these items – that can be intimidating!  We’re here to tell you that we do not judge, rather we hope to take these sentimental pieces and give them new life!

So, in an effort to take away the stranger-ness, we’d like to introduce ourselves and invite you into our lives and closets.

First up:  Cara

IMG_7041

Name: Cara Logsdon

Hometown: Upper Arlington

Family: Husband Jeremy, kids Evy (7), Wyatt (5), and Daisy (3)

Logsdon 9photo credit: Danielle Lehman Photography

Tell us about your background in fashion:  I kicked off my retail career as a sales associate at The Gap back in high school!  After college I completed the Executive Development Program at Neiman Marcus and was an assistant buyer in Designer Sportswear.  I then moved to Abercrombie & Fitch and worked in merchandising (women’s and girls knits) and then market research/focus groups, where I met Angela!

How would you describe your style:  Classic and feminine with some trendy elements…yet comfortable and practical.  Being the mom of little ones, I don’t want to worry about ruining my clothes.  I like pieces that are versatile: appropriate to wear walking the kids to school, driving them to sports practices, or going out to dinner at night.  I really just try to buy pieces that are interesting and that I love!

What is your go-to item in your closet:  My Rebecca Minkoff crossbody handbags.  They’re just big enough to hold all my essentials and allow me to keep my hands free since I always seem to be carrying something (or someone)!  When I need to carry a bigger bag I just throw it into a tote and go!

What is the oldest item in your closet:  A denim jacket circa 2001 (!!!).  I was studying in Italy for the summer and left the denim jacket I had brought with me at a train station.  I headed to the nearest Benetton (which seemed to be conveniently located on every street corner) and quickly replaced mine.  It’s a medium wash and a classic fit…and I still wear it today!

What is your spring must-have?  A white eyelet midi skirt.  Stylish, classic, and versatile!  I plan on wearing it dressed down with a nautical striped tee and flat sandals, and dressed up with a silk cami and wedges.  And probably my denim jacket!

What are your favorite places to shop:  Madewell and J.Crew, and since I seem to do a lot of shopping online, Shopbop and Zappos!

What’s the best part about being a wardrobe stylist: Seeing the confidence and excitement on our client’s faces after we complete a closet clean-up.  For many people – no matter how stylish or trendy they are – getting dressed and creating outfits can be stressful.  Knowing that we helped make their lives a little bit easier, or made them feel a little bit better about their their personal style, is very rewarding.

And here’s a look into my closet:

IMG_7042

 

Coming up….an interview with Angela!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment